Update on Essence Pack

January 30, 2006

I’ve been antsy about receiving the Six Moon Designs Essence Pack I ordered a couple weeks ago. So Saturday when I arrived home from my hike to find a package at the front door, I immediately thought it was the pack.

It turned out to be a small order of stuff from Gossamer Gear, which arrived so quickly I hadn’t yet expected it.

Today I contacted Ron Moak, the owner of Six Moon Designs and he sent back a reply in very short order. He told me there was such an immediate demand for the pack he sold out of his first run.

“We’ve had an overwhelming response to the Essence Pack and sold out the first production run in under 2 weeks.”

He told me a new shipment is expected in March.

Though he offered to refund my payment, I told him I still wanted the pack and would gladly wait.

Now, after reading this first review of the Essence Pack, I’m even more willing to wait, but yet more anxious to get it.


Nice trip reports

January 30, 2006

Unlike some bloggers I know (ahem), Jonathan Claxton does a nice job of posting trip reports with photos of his hikes, soon after he returns home.


Short changed

January 30, 2006

I led a small group of Boy Scouts Saturday on what was intended to be a 10-mile hike. I chose for the trip a section of the Cumberland Trail.

The route we took starts at Nemo Bridge and follows the Emory River at first, before it turns to follow the Obed River. Our destination was Breakaway Bluff, a high overlook above the river.

The weather was sunny and unusually warm, making for a perfect day of hiking in January.

I’m not sure why, but the trip came up well short of 10 miles, however.

Information on the Cumberland Trail Conference’s Web site says:

“This portion of the Obed W.S.R. Segment, within the Obed and Emory River gorges, incorporates the Obed’s 2.5mile Nemo Trail and an additional 2.5 mile segment built by the Cumberland Trail Conference, Tennessee Trails Association, and Breakaway Volunteers, giving a total one-way distance of 5.0 miles.”

By my limited mathematical skills, returning to the starting point should total 10 miles. A trailhead sign at Rock Creek Campground, which is maybe a quarter mile from Nemo Bridge, said the trail was 4.9 miles to Breakaway Bluff.
So why did my GPS track show the trip was only 8.8 miles?

I’ll try to find out before I write up my trip report.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.