Snow go

Just checked the conditions at Mt. Leconte and it looks like the snow hasn’t melted.

As of this morning, there was still nine inches of snow there and three inches at Newfound Gap.

I’m wondering if the six-inch difference is because Newfound Gap is west of Leconte, or if it’s simply a difference in elevation (about 1400 feet).  Most likely, the latter.

2 Responses to Snow go

  1. […] The point is, I completed my first South Beyond 6000 ascent today. I hiked to the top of Mt. LeConte, just as I had planned and despite the nine inches of snow. […]

  2. […] This made me glad I went up a few days after that snowfall: “It took Levon and Len Gassett of Meigs, Ga., a little more than seven hours to reach the lodge. Although the couple had made numerous visits to LeConte Lodge, this was their first time trudging through the wind and snow.” […]

