Another Cutter

By way of another WordPress.com blog, Talking Baseball, I found another guy who calls himself Cutter.
The Sixth Tool is a blog written pseudonymously by someone who claims to be a baseball scout. He goes by the name Maxwell “Cutter” Jones.

In his profile he writes

Look, I didn’t even want to write this darned blog but lately I’ve spent one too many impromptu sessions with a sports psychologist who works for the club. He wants me to try this out as a form of therapy. Yeah, whatever. He claims I have some issues I need to get off my chest. I’ll let you be the judge of that.

Um, okay. Does that seem a little, well, inauthentic?

But I have to admit I understand the part about not revealing one’s identity.

I’m not trying to go out of my way to avoid giving away my real name, but I prefer to keep some separation with this blog and the other online work I do.

And I’m not real sure why I feel that way. Maybe it just seems like the safe thing to do.

Or the easy way out.

Oh, and my wife just rolled her eyes when I said I was using the name Cutter.

Don’t you hate it when some people know you too well?

Comments are closed.

