List-making for geeks

Backpacking Light has posted the entries in a gear list spreadsheet contest. I didn’t bother to download but a couple because nearly all of them looked like ordinary lists with weights totalled in a separate column.

A calculator will do that for you.

I was expecting to see some sophisticated uses of spreadsheet layouts and database techniques.

I once spent a little time trying to develop the ultimate gear list spreadsheet. It was going to have a check-box system that would allow me to pre-select the items I wanted before to take on my next trip. Then that would lead to a page that would list only the items selected, providing a printer-friendly checklist for packing.

And then I decided I had better things to do with my life.

One Response to List-making for geeks

  1. […] Cutter ponders how to account for one’s gear. I once spent a little time trying to develop the ultimate gear list spreadsheet. It was going to have a check-box system that would allow me to pre-select the items I wanted before to take on my next trip. Then that would lead to page would list only the items selected, providing a printer-friendly checklist for packing. And then I decided I had better things to do with my life. […]

