Entering AT country

This weekend my younger son and I will be heading down to an area where the AT crosses. We’ll be riding in the Circle the Bald charity bicycle ride on Saturday, which is sponsored by the Southern Appalachian Bicycle Association.

Then we’ll head up to Brasstown Bald to watch the finish of stage 5 of the Tour de Georgia.

We’ve done this the last two years, but this year will have one big difference: no Lance Armstrong.

Though we won’t be hiking the AT, we’ll still get in some hiking. In order to get to the finish line at the top of Brasstown Bald you pretty much have to hike. The road to top is closed that day and we found the shuttle buses that are provided are few and crowded.

One Response to Entering AT country

  1. […] I'm in a hurry to get out the door and on my way to Hiawassee, Ga., but I made the mistake of checking my email before I left. […]

