Ferntastic

Ferns on the approach to Blackstock Knob
enlarge

Yesterday I had to travel to Marshall, N.C. to pay my debt to society. It seems that Madison County has very little means of support other than speed traps, so I can understand how the county leaders felt it was so important for me to travel there, rather than just mail a check.

So what better way to soothe the pain than to go hiking?

I headed to the Blue Ridge Parkway, where I intended to knock off two or three of the South Beyond 6000 peaks. But as I arrived it began to rain, so I chose a shorter hike, a 6.5 mile trip along the Mountains to Sea Trail to Blackstock Knob (elevation 6,330 feet).

Along the way in several spots there was an amazing abundance of ferns.

More photos here.

Comments are closed.

