Enjoy the view

Mt. CammererThe Charlotte Observer has a review of some of the lookout towers and observation decks atop mountains in the Southeast, like Mt. Cammerer (pictured here from a hike I made last May).

What’s missing from the list are mountaintops with balds, which I find afford some of the best panoramic views.

The article is brief but useful. And it reminded me of something about Mt. Mitchell that I had forgotten:

“If you’ve never climbed Mitchell’s tower, better do it soon. The N.C. Division of Parks and Recreation plans to tear down the 47-year-old structure this fall and replace it with a shorter but handicapped-accessible tower at a cost of $1.2 million.”

Guess I better get over there. Though I’ve been in the vicinity of Mt. Mitchell a couple times, I’ve not yet been to the top.

Comments are closed.

