Fluffy, not stuffy

Sleeping bag in cloudsBruce Lewis at lightbackpacking.com has some useful tips for washing your down sleeping bag, though he might be overstating them a bit by calling them Secrets for Cleaning Goose Down Sleeping Bags.

His tips are good, but similar to the instructions that come with most detergents intended for down products.

One of his tips is to include tennis balls in the dryer. I wish I could remember where I read it, but somewhere I found instructions that said this was a common suggestion but shouldn’t be tried.

Instead, these instructions said, you should take your bag out of the dryer every few minutes and fluff it up, breaking up the clumps by hand. This way, you don’t run the risk of damaging the baffles and stitching.

I don’t know which is the best way, but a few weeks ago I washed my Marmot Arroyo 30-degree bag with Nikwax Down Wash and tried that drying technique without the tennis balls. I was impressed with the results.

When finally dry, my sleeping bag was as fluffy as a cloud.

2 Responses to Fluffy, not stuffy

  1. Bruce Lewis says:

    Cutter is right when he says I might have overstated it to say I was offering “secrets” for cleaning down bags. Are there really any secrets?

    But, hey, I got his attention.

    I should have said “tips.” But my blog goal to is make things interesting and simple (and accurate, of course). Hopefully, others will find my 1-2-3 approach to bag cleaning less intimidating than the manufacturers who kind of scare you with the details.

    Cutter’s blog is well written and full of good ideas for lightbackpackers. I intend to visit here more often for new ideas.

  2. cutter says:

    Yes, Bruce, you did get my attention, as you frequently do with your excellent site.

    Thanks for your kind words.

