I’m jealous

Charlie FergusonThe Carolina Mountain Club newsletter reports Charlie Ferguson recently completed the SB6K Challenge.

I was envious, considering I’ve only been able to reach 6 of the 40 summits so far.

But then I read what Ferguson said about his efforts:

“I had my first real taste of the SB6K this May when I went on the 3 day SB6K Smokies backpack, led by Tom Sanders.”

Gaaaa! Don’t tell me that! You’ve hiked nearly all of the peaks in just 5 months?

Ferguson says it was easy because he had help.

“The CMC hike schedule included many of the SB6K peaks that were needed to fill in the blanks. All I had to do was show up.”

Oh sure, that and having all the free time in the world.

Anyway, congratulations Charlie.

5 Responses to I’m jealous

  1. Bubba295 says:

    Well I’m going to hit my 1st SB6K this weekend. Heading up to Clingmans Dome with the troop. Going to start there and end up at Elkmont on Sunday morning. Here’s hoping for a rain free weekend!

  2. cutter says:

    Have a great time, Bubba295.

    I still haven’t written up a trip report for my hike to Clingman’s Dome. That was in *cough* January. I hiked solo from Newfound Gap and ran into knee-high snow after Mt. Collins. I ended up coming back by way of the Clingman’s Dome Road so that I could get back to my car by dark.

    I’m planning to go up the same route you’re taking next January with some Boy Scouts. That could be an interesting adventure!

  3. Bubba295 says:

    We had a great time. We only had three boys go on this trip, but they all liked it. CS 26 is huge so it might make a good spot for a large group.

  4. cutter says:

    Thanks for the update. You certainly had a weekend of beautiful weather.
    If you stayed at CS26 I guess you took Jake’s Creek and Miry Ridge trails. Did you make it up to Clingman’s Dome? That’s a lot of hiking because it’s not the most direct route.

  5. I hope to lead a backpack in the Smokies. There should be an article in the CMC eNews something like this:
    Smokey Mountains: Backpack – 8 6000 foot peaks – May 8-11
    Complete the CMC’s SB6K Challenge. This 4 day, 3 night backpack will go to the top of the 8 otherwise very difficult to get to peaks in the SB6K Challenge. Usually the Backpack is a very difficult 3 day backpack which scares some people off. This backpack spreads the work out over 4 days also reducing backtracking. It’s about 39 miles total – 6.6, 9.2, 11.1 and 10(or 12) miles each day. Details are in the hike map document on the website: http://www.carolinamtnclub.com/./Hiking/Maps/0651-Smokies4daySB6K.pdf . Charlie Ferguson will lead the hike – email him if you are interested. Priority will be given to those who have not been to these peaks before. There is a limit of 8 on the backpack. We will stay in shelters each night so there is no need to carry a tent, unless you want to. The hike is #651: http://www.carolinamtnclub.com/hikedetails.asp?number=651 .
    We will organize mostly via email. If there is a need we will organize a planning meeting.

    If you are interested and you need help planning (food, equipment, etc.) let me know.

