Power to the people

Bear Electric Fence SystemI’m no Luddite, but sometimes I rail against over-reliance on technology in the wilderness.

In fact, I’m just as tech-obsessed as the next geek. It’s just that I’d rather not trust my life to a set of AA batteries and a few microchips.

So when I saw this product, I was, well, shocked.

Bear Shock is the first ultra lightweight battery-powered, electric fence system and is designed to provide safety and sound sleep while in bear country and to help protect you and your equipment from curious bears by providing a surprising electrical shock if touched. Bear Shock uses three sets of poly-wire with two hot and one ground. When the energizer is turned on, Bear Shock will distribute an electric charge of about 6,000 volts if touched.

Okay, let’s think about this, folks. You’re going to carry a 3.7 lbs. (with batteries) device so you can forgo the need to properly store food and follow other safety precautions in the wilderness.

And if that does make sense, did anyone think of what’s likely to happen when you get up in the middle of the night to pee?

Tip: The Goat

One Response to Power to the people

  1. Justin says:

    Although camping behind a electric fence is a pain, it does have its uses. I have camped inside of a fence on trail crews and I know that NOLS also uses it in Alaska. It’s helpful when you have a ‘base camp’ for more than a day or two.

